Parliament Website

East Coast Network Rail Job Losses

EDM number 493 in 2009-10, proposed by John McDonnell on 15/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House is extremely concerned at the decision of Network Rail to introduce compulsory redundancies amongst rail maintenance workers despite receiving Government subsidy of £5 billion per annum; notes with dismay that these redundancies will affect many parts of the rail network, including the loss of over 100 jobs on the East Coast Main Line route; is appalled that skilled green jobs are being lost when they will be needed to expand and improve our railway; is also alarmed at the safety implications of reducing a workforce who are responsible for ensuring the safe inspection and repair of track, signals and other rail infrastructure; and calls on Network Rail to review immediately its decision.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

John McDonnell15/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jim Cousins15/12/2009Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSeconded
Colin Challen15/12/2009Morley and RothwellLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan15/12/2009HalifaxLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson16/12/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Harry Cohen16/12/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Betty Williams16/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Lynne Jones16/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice16/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Alan Meale05/01/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Michael Clapham05/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing05/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Wood05/01/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
David Anderson05/01/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
John Mann06/01/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
Dai Davies06/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Janet Dean06/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/01/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
David Drew07/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
John Mason07/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
David Clelland11/01/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
William McCrea12/01/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Katy Clark12/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Rudi Vis13/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.