Parliament Website

150th Anniversary Of Selby Times

EDM number 771 in 2009-10, proposed by John Grogan on 01/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Press.

That this House congratulates the staff and readers of the Selby Times on the occasion in 2010 of the 150th anniversary of the newspaper; notes that for all that time the paper has faithfully chronicled the life and times of several generations of Selebians and citizens of the surrounding villages; believes that the paper, like many up and down the land, plays a vital part in local democracy, reporting and commenting on the activities of local councils, business and public bodies as well as giving a voice to the ordinary voter; commends in particular the paper's sports, leisure and property coverage as well as the Thought for the Week and Bygone Days columns; and further notes the newspaper's increasing online presence and wishes all involved the very best for the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

John Grogan01/02/2010SelbyLabourProposed
Alan Meale02/02/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis02/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer02/02/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Janet Dean02/02/2010BurtonLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore02/02/2010HendonLabourSeconded
Colin Burgon02/02/2010ElmetLabourSigned
Paul Flynn03/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark03/02/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Phil Willis03/02/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn03/02/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins04/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
David Drew04/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming08/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson10/02/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Michael Clapham10/02/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley22/02/2010City of YorkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.