Parliament Website

First Capital Connect (No. 2)

EDM number 773 in 2009-10, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 02/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House notes the continued poor service on First Capital Connect; believes that this breaches the company's franchise agreement; is appalled that passengers have suffered this disruption whilst First Group's Chief Executive was paid over £1 million in 2009 and the company's profits have exceeded £800 million since rail privatisation; welcomes the fact that the Minister of State, Department for Transport has confirmed that all options are on the table when considering the future of the franchise; and urges the Government to take the franchise in-house and to run it as a publicly-owned and accountable public service for the benefit of passengers, taxpayers and railway employees.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins02/02/2010Luton NorthLabourProposed
Frank Dobson02/02/2010Holborn and St PancrasLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore02/02/2010HendonLabourSeconded
John McDonnell02/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Kate Hoey02/02/2010VauxhallLabourSeconded
Bob Spink02/02/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Ann Cryer02/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn03/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark03/02/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Robert Wareing03/02/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Desmond Turner03/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Graham Stringer03/02/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Diane Abbott03/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin03/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Janet Dean03/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale03/02/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson03/02/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn03/02/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins04/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
David Drew04/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Bill Etherington05/02/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff09/02/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Michael Clapham10/02/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
John Austin10/02/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.