Parliament Website

Administration Of The Childcare Voucher Scheme

EDM number 915 in 2009-10, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 23/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Child care.

That this House acknowledges the huge support that the Government childcare vouchers scheme gives to the finances of all working parents and welcomes the Government's commitment to maintain the tax relief that underpins the scheme; notes with concern an emerging industry variation in the time taken for childcare providers to receive payments from voucher providers; believes that the rapid growth of the sector legitimises calls for voluntary minimum standards to be set for this expanding industry; recognises that uncertainty about voucher processing companies risks resulting in childcare providers being forced to refuse payment by voucher, consequently undermining the aims of the scheme; calls for the establishment of a voluntary code of practice in consultation with all involved parties to ensure minimum standards; and calls on the Government to recognise the opportunity to pledge support for its own scheme presented by bringing the administration of the scheme back into the public sector therefore creating jobs and safeguarding childcare places for working parents.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle23/02/2010ChorleyLabourProposed
David Crausby23/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan23/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Dobbin23/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
David Simpson24/02/2010Upper BannDUPSeconded
Lynne Jones24/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer24/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
David Drew24/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Desmond Turner24/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
John Mason25/02/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Edward O'Hara26/02/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Janet Anderson26/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Denis Murphy01/03/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Martin Caton01/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
David Borrow01/03/2010South RibbleLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty02/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
John Cummings02/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea04/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Harry Cohen04/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff09/03/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady10/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell16/03/2010PudseyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.