Parliament Website

Youth Work And The Youth Service

EDM number 1013 in 2010-12, proposed by Tom Blenkinsop on 16/11/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Public expenditure and Voluntary organisations.

That this House values highly the work of youth workers and the youth service and believes that these need urgent protection from unfair and disproportionate cuts in local authority and voluntary sector provision; recognises that through their unique voluntary relationship with young people youth workers are able to give highly cost-effective support to them and, through a process of informal learning, personal and social education, increase young people's participation as active citizens in local and national democracy, re-engage them in education, make lives healthier, improve access to learning, strengthen information, advice and guidance, support partnership working, participate in structured leisure time activities, stay out of the youth justice system and play an active and voluntary part in their local communities, provide experiences that enable free association and fun; and notes that Joint Negotiating Committee-qualified youth workers are trained to sustain adult volunteers in community activities and successfully fundraise for services from a range of sources and maintain creative partnerships between local authority and voluntary sector providers; and calls on the Government urgently to review the compliance by local authorities with the Education and Inspections Act 2006 with regard to youth work provision and to find urgent ways to protect youth services from the current severe round of cuts.

This motion has been signed by a total of 69 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Tom Blenkinsop16/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourProposed
Ian Mearns16/11/2010GatesheadLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley17/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Ronnie Campbell17/11/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Martin Caton17/11/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin17/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn17/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson18/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Alan Meale18/11/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas22/11/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Valerie Vaz22/11/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Mike Gapes22/11/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis22/11/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman22/11/2010Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Richard Burden23/11/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield23/11/2010Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi23/11/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma23/11/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech23/11/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Natascha Engel23/11/2010North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy23/11/2010Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh23/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley24/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Stephen Hepburn24/11/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Keith Vaz24/11/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Bob Russell25/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso29/11/2010Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Pat Glass29/11/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
Julian Huppert29/11/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer01/12/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/12/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas06/12/2010Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Dai Havard06/12/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
George Howarth06/12/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
David Crausby07/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce08/12/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Betts13/12/2010Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Karl Turner13/12/2010Kingston upon Hull EastLabourSigned
Louise Ellman14/12/2010Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Joan Walley14/12/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
David Ward15/12/2010Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods20/12/2010City of DurhamLabourSigned
Martin Horwood20/12/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Gardiner20/12/2010Brent NorthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly10/01/2011Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Stella Creasy10/01/2011WalthamstowLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/01/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Alan Keen25/01/2011Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan26/01/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Bill Esterson28/02/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
David Lammy01/03/2011TottenhamLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/03/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton15/03/2011Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy18/03/2011WiganLabourSigned
Chris Ruane17/06/2011Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe11/10/2011Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson12/10/2011Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Frank Doran18/10/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson20/10/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Joan Ruddock20/10/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice24/10/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris25/10/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Tom Brake26/10/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alun Michael27/10/2011Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke27/10/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Duncan Hames31/10/2011ChippenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Wright22/11/2011TelfordLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce05/12/2011Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.