Parliament Website

Atomic Test Veterans

EDM number 1116 in 2010-12, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 01/12/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Veterans.

That this House notes with regret the decision of the Court of Appeal to deny ex-servicemen compensation for the illness and injuries they believe they suffered as a result of exposure to radiation from atmospheric nuclear weapons tests conducted between 1952 and 1958 on mainland Australia, the Australian Montebello Islands and on Christmas Island in the South Pacific; further notes that deleterious health impacts and cancers caused as a result of radiation exposure can appear several years after the exposure; therefore believes that, where compensation claims by atomic test veterans fall foul of a statute of limitations on the time period within which a claim should normally be made, Ministers should still consider those claims; further notes with alarm that Dr Sue Rabbit-Roff, a researcher at Durham University, has contacted 2,500 veterans in the UK and New Zealand establishing that twice as many were suffering from the radiation-induced cancer, multiple myeloma, than had been conceded by successive British governments; welcomes the French government's agreement to compensate its own atomic test veterans, those who contracted illnesses attributed to the country's nuclear tests in the Sahara and French Polynesia, between 1960 and 1996; and calls on the Ministry of Defence to set aside its case in the courts and recognise its moral responsibility to compensate the UK soldiers and their families who acted in good faith to fulfil their military duties but as a consequence have suffered from exposure to radiation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Caroline Lucas01/12/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Paul Flynn01/12/2010Newport WestLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns01/12/2010GatesheadLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/12/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George01/12/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon02/12/2010StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jack Lopresti02/12/2010Filton and Bradley StokeConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards02/12/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Nicholas Dakin02/12/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
John Leech02/12/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin02/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner02/12/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders02/12/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale03/12/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Annette Brooke03/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff03/12/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mark Williams03/12/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice03/12/2010LivingstonLabourSigned
George Howarth06/12/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop06/12/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Michael Weir07/12/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ian Swales07/12/2010RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan07/12/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton07/12/2010GowerLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden07/12/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/12/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn08/12/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/12/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tim Farron08/12/2010Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Henderson08/12/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy09/12/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Jim Dowd09/12/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Michael Connarty09/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/12/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/12/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tony Lloyd13/12/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Miller13/12/2010Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson13/12/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Joan Walley13/12/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams13/12/2010ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Katy Clark13/12/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan14/12/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Jessica Morden15/12/2010Newport EastLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/12/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Naomi Long12/01/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Linda Riordan26/01/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Tessa Munt27/01/2011WellsLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.