Parliament Website

National No Smoking Day 9 March 2011

EDM number 1501 in 2010-12, proposed by Ian Mearns on 01/03/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Smoking.

That this House notes National No Smoking Day is taking place on 9 March 2011; believes that smoking is one of the biggest causes of avoidable deaths and that it is the duty of Government to encourage people to stop smoking or to discourage the recruitment of new customers by de-normalising and deglamourising the addiction; agrees with the Observer editorial of 27 February 2011 that independent research confirmed that the ban in Ireland did not result in a loss of income for Irish retailers, while there was a dramatic decline in children's awareness that tobacco was sold in shops; further notes that support for the ban rose among the general population after it was introduced; and urges the Government to positively conclude its deliberations on carrying through the decision of the last Parliament to ban tobacco displays in shops, which are simply a form of product advertising.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Ian Mearns01/03/2011GatesheadLabourProposed
Jim Shannon02/03/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Simpson02/03/2011Upper BannDUPSeconded
Yvonne Fovargue02/03/2011MakerfieldLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn02/03/2011Newport WestLabourSeconded
Naomi Long02/03/2011Belfast EastAllianceSeconded
John McDonnell02/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kevin Barron02/03/2011Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon02/03/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock03/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams03/03/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh04/03/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Wright07/03/2011Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Chapman07/03/2011DarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin08/03/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram08/03/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne09/03/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Joan Walley09/03/2011Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper09/03/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin09/03/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham10/03/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Nick Smith14/03/2011Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
William McCrea15/03/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Lindsay Roy16/03/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby30/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds31/03/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Mike Gapes03/05/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.