Parliament Website

Future Of The Tote (No.2)

EDM number 1516 in 2010-12, proposed by Laurence Robertson on 01/03/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House is aware that the Government is currently considering the future ownership of the Tote organisation; is further aware that this body is responsible for the employment of over 400 full-time employees as well as large numbers of part-time employees, principally at its Wigan headquarters, in its high street betting shops and among its travelling racecourse staff who provide betting provision in facilities at the 60 racecourses spread across Great Britain; recalls that successive administrations have stated publicly that any decision on this matter will be made in the best interests of racing and that after liabilities at least 50 per cent. of all proceeds raised will be returned to racing; notes that the Tote Foundation bid has been developed by all the leading organisations within racing, including members and officials of the current Tote Board, Jockey Club and the Horseman's Group, which holds within its membership organisations representing owners, trainers, breeders, jockeys and stable staff and is supported overwhelmingly by all to take on the role of managing and developing the Tote's future; notes that, last year, the Tote provided 19 million to racing and believes that this continuing income is crucial to the sport; and calls on the Government to announce that it agrees with the overwhelming body of opinion of those who work within the industry, together with those who support racing and largely cause the generation of its income, and to announce a decision to transfer ownership of the Tote to the Tote Foundation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Laurence Robertson01/03/2011TewkesburyConservativeProposed
Alan Meale01/03/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Yvonne Fovargue01/03/2011MakerfieldLabourSeconded
Gavin Williamson01/03/2011South StaffordshireConservativeSeconded
Bob Blackman01/03/2011Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Lisa Nandy01/03/2011WiganLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell01/03/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dave Watts01/03/2011St Helens NorthLabourSigned
David Nuttall01/03/2011Bury NorthConservativeSigned
Ian Lavery01/03/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
James Morris02/03/2011Halesowen and Rowley RegisConservativeWithdrawn
John McDonnell02/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns02/03/2011GatesheadLabourSigned
Mary Glindon02/03/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Graham Stringer02/03/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Kevin Barron02/03/2011Rother ValleyLabourSigned
James Gray02/03/2011North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn02/03/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Nicholas Soames02/03/2011Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Dennis Skinner02/03/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan02/03/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
John Robertson02/03/2011Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop03/03/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris07/03/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood08/03/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin08/03/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Leech08/03/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice08/03/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/03/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne09/03/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Frank Field10/03/2011BirkenheadLabourSigned
Michael Connarty14/03/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Louise Ellman15/03/2011Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Si15/03/2011Swansea EastLabourSigned
Joe Benton15/03/2011BootleLabourSigned
Dai Havard15/03/2011Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson17/03/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Peter Aldous17/03/2011WaveneyConservativeSigned
Bill Esterson22/03/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Chris Evans22/03/2011IslwynLabourSigned
David Crausby23/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Goggins30/03/2011Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSigned
David Amess30/03/2011Southend WestConservativeSigned
Simon Danczuk26/04/2011RochdaleLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper07/06/2011West LancashireLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.