Parliament Website

Rights Of Domestic Workers

EDM number 1887 in 2010-12, proposed by Michael Connarty on 09/06/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Employment.

That this House believes that domestic workers should be treated fairly; welcomes the efforts of the International Labour Organisation to set proper standards for domestic workers and its recent adoption of an International Convention on Domestic Workers; is concerned by the opposition of the Government to domestic workers' rights in relation to working time, occupational health and safety and employment agencies; and calls on the Government to abandon its isolated objection and join other countries in supporting fullythe Convention and subsequent Recommendation as part of the international effort to combat slavery and human trafficking.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Michael Connarty09/06/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourProposed
Graeme Morrice09/06/2011LivingstonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark09/06/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Gordon Banks09/06/2011Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSeconded
Malcolm Wicks09/06/2011Croydon NorthLabourSeconded
Cathy Jamieson09/06/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards09/06/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Cunningham14/06/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas15/06/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Murphy15/06/2011TorfaenLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/06/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/06/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim McGovern15/06/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon15/06/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock16/06/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/06/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd16/06/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Frank Doran16/06/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram17/06/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes20/06/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy20/06/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Kate Green20/06/2011Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/06/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/06/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
David Crausby21/06/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy21/06/2011WiganLabourSigned
Ian Lavery21/06/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Bill Esterson21/06/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Graham Stringer22/06/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Mike Wood27/06/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
John Hemming27/06/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer29/06/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Linda Riordan29/06/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar05/07/2011Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham05/07/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh11/07/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood11/07/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.