Parliament Website

Anniversary Of The Birth Of E F Schumacher

EDM number 1942 in 2010-12, proposed by Martin Horwood on 20/06/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Economic situation and Economic policy.

That this House notes the centenary of E F Schumacher's birth on 16 August 2011; recognises his outstanding contribution to economics; calls on the Government to implement his vision of sustainable economic development using technology `appropriate for a sustainable world...simple and non-violent, promoting health, beauty and permanence, enhancing skills'; further notes the legacy he left through the work of Practical Action and other organisations forming the Schumacher Circle and his inspiration for the environmental movement worldwide; and urges that his ideas be considered by the Government in addressing the crises facing the world in financial markets, energy and food to make our use of the planet's resources more sustainable and to improve people's lives, both here and in the developing world.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Martin Horwood20/06/2011CheltenhamLiberal DemocratProposed
Caroline Lucas20/06/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Andrew George20/06/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan20/06/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley20/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John McDonnell20/06/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Adrian Sanders21/06/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/06/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton21/06/2011GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Williams21/06/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams22/06/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech23/06/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke23/06/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn27/06/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie28/06/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd29/06/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John Pugh30/06/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir04/07/2011AngusScottish National PartySigned
Tessa Munt04/07/2011WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman05/07/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Edward Leigh11/07/2011GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Roger Williams14/07/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron11/08/2011Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.