Parliament Website

British Medical Association Motion On The Commission On Assisted Dying And The BBC

EDM number 2030 in 2010-12, proposed by Jim Dobbin on 04/07/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Medical ethics.

That this House applauds the motion passed by the British Medical Association Annual Conference condemning the Commission on Assisted Dying led by Lord Falconer as biased; regrets that such an important development failed to be given coverage by any BBC news programme; notes the strong campaign waged by the BBC network supporting Lord Falconer's Commission and changes in the law to allow euthanasia; further notes this has included five major programmes that have been sympathetic to assisted dying in the last three years with none against; further notes that BBC news programmes looked ahead to the Swiss referendum on assisted suicide on the day before it took place, covered it on the day as people went to the polls and then reported the result which supported euthanasia; further notes that in comparison the BBC failed to give any coverage to the BMA motion debated by British doctors at a conference of national importance to Britain, even though the BBC news staff had a representative present; further notes this as evidence of the ingrained bias of the BBC staff on the issue; calls on the Government to inform the Lord Patten of Barnes, Chairman of the BBC Trust, and Mr Mark Thompson, the Director General, that the Corporation's Royal Charter requiring it to take an impartial stand on all issues of public policy thus disbars BBC personnel from using the network to promote and develop their own campaigns on any issue; and urges that a thorough inquiry at the highest level should be established immediately.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Jim Dobbin04/07/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourProposed
Gary Streeter04/07/2011South West DevonConservativeSeconded
Fiona Bruce04/07/2011CongletonConservativeSeconded
David Crausby04/07/2011Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Greg Mulholland04/07/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Frank Field04/07/2011BirkenheadLabourSeconded
Angus MacNeil04/07/2011Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson05/07/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Mark Durkan05/07/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale06/07/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/07/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Shannon06/07/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie06/07/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mary Glindon11/07/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper14/07/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Anne Main18/07/2011St AlbansConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds19/07/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Paul Goggins19/07/2011Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham20/07/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood05/09/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Amess05/09/2011Southend WestConservativeSigned
Peter Lilley10/10/2011Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.