Parliament Website

Casual Workers' Rights

EDM number 2133 in 2010-12, proposed by Katy Clark on 05/09/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Employment.

That this House is troubled at the lack of protection for casual workers in the United Kingdom; notes with disappointment that at present casual workers can have their shifts cut short with no prior notice; acknowledges that temporary agency workers can often be amongst the most vulnerable in the United Kingdom; and calls on the Government to introduce stronger minimum rights for casual workers, including a minimum notice period before a shift can be cut short, to ensure that they are treated fairly and with respect in the workplace.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Katy Clark05/09/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Iain McKenzie05/09/2011InverclydeLabourSeconded
Bob Russell05/09/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Linda Riordan05/09/2011HalifaxLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock05/09/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins05/09/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn05/09/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Durkan05/09/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell05/09/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson05/09/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Alan Meale06/09/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Ian Lavery06/09/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Ian Mearns06/09/2011GatesheadLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/09/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir07/09/2011AngusScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Francis07/09/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/09/2011GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/09/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Glenda Jackson07/09/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan07/09/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon07/09/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Albert Owen07/09/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop08/09/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd09/09/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
John Leech09/09/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy09/09/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/09/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Kevin Barron13/09/2011Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice13/09/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas13/09/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Crausby14/09/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd15/09/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew George15/09/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram15/09/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty10/10/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jim McGovern10/10/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy10/10/2011WiganLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin10/10/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Frank Doran18/10/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.