Parliament Website

Swansea Maritime Rescue Co-Ordination Centre

EDM number 2142 in 2010-12, proposed by Martin Caton on 06/09/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Emergency services and Marine environment.

That this House deplores the decision of the Secretary of State for Transport and the Shipping Minister to recommend the closure of the Swansea Maritime Rescue Co-ordination Centre at Mumbles; recognises that this Centre is, by far, the busiest in Wales and one of the busiest in the UK, protecting users of sea and shore from Carmarthen in the west, acrossthe south Wales coast to Gloucester and down the eastern side of the Bristol Channel to the Cornish border; is appalled that this proposal would leave the Bristol Channel, with the second highest tidal range in the world, without a twenty-four hour staffed coastguard station; urges everyone concerned about maritime and coastal safety to oppose this proposal in the current consultationexercise; and calls on the Government to reconsider this dangerous recommendation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Martin Caton06/09/2011GowerLabourProposed
Jonathan Edwards07/09/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Meale07/09/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn07/09/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Tony Lloyd07/09/2011Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Paul Murphy07/09/2011TorfaenLabourSigned
Si07/09/2011Swansea EastLabourSigned
Nia Griffith07/09/2011LlanelliLabourSigned
Mark Tami07/09/2011Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/09/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Albert Owen07/09/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Alun Michael07/09/2011Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Chris Ruane07/09/2011Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Hywel Francis08/09/2011AberavonLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/09/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark12/09/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Mike Hancock12/09/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin12/09/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/09/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer13/09/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Geraint Davies13/09/2011Swansea WestLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper13/09/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Jessica Morden13/09/2011Newport EastLabourSigned
Owen Smith13/09/2011PontypriddLabourSigned
Ian Mearns13/09/2011GatesheadLabourSigned
Chris Evans13/09/2011IslwynLabourSigned
David Crausby14/09/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd15/09/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Nick Smith01/11/2011Blaenau GwentLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.