Parliament Website

Human Rights In Colombia (No. 2)

EDM number 2456 in 2010-12, proposed by Katy Clark on 22/11/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Latin America.

That this House welcomes the positive change under President Santos' administration in trying to address the needs of the many victims created by the Colombian conflict, with the introduction of the Victims Law 1448; is concerned, however, that the killings and attacks against community leaders and human rights defenders working on land and victims issues continue to increase; notes that Colombia continues to be the most dangerous country in the world for human rights defenders and trade unionists; also notes that sexual violence against women in the Colombian confict is a hidden crime and the perpetrators are very rarely held to account; recognises the commitment of the British Embassy in Colombia to supporting human rights and human rights defenders; calls on the Government to ask President Santos, during his forthcoming visit to the UK, for further concrete commitments to improve the human rights situation in his country and the protection provided to defenders, trade unionists and community and church leaders; and urges all parties in the Colombian conflict to enter into dialogue to resolve the conflict peacefully.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Katy Clark22/11/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Tom Clarke22/11/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Eilidh Whiteford22/11/2011Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley22/11/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Dan Rogerson22/11/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Linda Riordan22/11/2011HalifaxLabourSeconded
Andrew George22/11/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Anas Sarwar22/11/2011Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland22/11/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson22/11/2011East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Gary Streeter22/11/2011South West DevonConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan22/11/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jon Cruddas22/11/2011Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Tom Brake22/11/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne22/11/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas22/11/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Tony Lloyd22/11/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn22/11/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan22/11/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards23/11/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Julian Huppert23/11/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe23/11/2011Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/11/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/11/2011GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale23/11/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/11/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner23/11/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
David Simpson23/11/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon23/11/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Adrian Sanders23/11/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/11/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Love24/11/2011EdmontonLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy29/11/2011WiganLabourSigned
Ian Lavery29/11/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Robert Walter30/11/2011North DorsetConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell01/12/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Iain McKenzie01/12/2011InverclydeLabourSigned
John Mann01/12/2011BassetlawLabourSigned
Frank Doran05/12/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis05/12/2011AberavonLabourSigned
John Hemming05/12/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech06/12/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart06/12/2011Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Natascha Engel08/12/2011North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Grahame Morris13/12/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson15/12/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
John Thurso10/01/2012Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern08/02/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.