Parliament Website

Prison Officers' Association And Trade Union Rights

EDM number 2571 in 2010-12, proposed by Elfyn Llwyd on 10/01/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations, Pay and Prisons.

That this House supports full trade union rights for the Prison Officers' Association (POA); notes that the International Labour Organisation criticised the previous administration for failing to put in place alternative mechanisms for pay bargaining and matters of dispute; further notes that the Criminal Justice Act 2003 criminalises POA members if they take industrial action; believes that the POA isdenied the right to free collective bargaining over pay on behalf of its members; further believes that the absence of effective alternative mechanisms to otherwise protect prison officers' interestsis incompatible with the right under Article 11 of the European Convention on Human Rights to `freedom of assembly including the right to belong to a trade union for the protection of your interests'; further believes that the POA is the only trade union that does not have full trade union rights; and calls on the Government to take steps to restore full trade union rights to the Prison Officers' Association.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Elfyn Llwyd10/01/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
John McDonnell10/01/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
David Anderson10/01/2012BlaydonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan10/01/2012HalifaxLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins10/01/2012Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/01/2012Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner11/01/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/01/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/01/2012GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin11/01/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/01/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams11/01/2012ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards11/01/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Steve Rotheram12/01/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
David Crausby12/01/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alan Meale12/01/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/01/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mary Glindon16/01/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Michael Connarty17/01/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan18/01/2012Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis18/01/2012AberavonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery18/01/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/01/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Wood20/01/2012Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Katy Clark23/01/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Ian Davidson25/01/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham26/01/2012Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Meacher08/02/2012Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Bill Esterson09/03/2012Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce19/04/2012Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.