Parliament Website

50th Anniversary Of The 1962 Orpington By-Election

EDM number 2869 in 2010-12, proposed by Greg Mulholland on 14/03/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Members of Parliament and Parliament.

That this House commemorates the 50th anniversary of the historic 1962 Orpington by-election; celebrates the victory of Eric Lubbock, now Lord Avebury; notes and celebrates the significant increases in vote shares of the Liberal Party in another five parliamentary by-elections, Middlesbrough East, Blackpool North, Stockton-on-Tees, South Dorset and Chippenham, in the same year; further notes that the sensational victory in Orpington and the other good results were part of and key to the revival of the Liberal Party and liberal politics in the UK; and praises the hard work of all the Liberal candidates, agents, helpers and supporters in all the parliamentary by-elections that took place between March and November 1962 that helped revive the Liberal Party and changed British political history.

This motion has been signed by a total of 12 MPs.

Mike Hancock09/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland14/03/2012Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell14/03/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Simon Hughes14/03/2012Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Beith14/03/2012Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSeconded
Tim Farron14/03/2012Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Williams14/03/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George15/03/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech20/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart21/03/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams22/03/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt27/03/2012SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.