Parliament Website

Proposed Standard Rate VAT On Freshly Baked Food

EDM number 2952 in 2010-12, proposed by Mary Glindon on 16/04/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Food and Taxation.

That this House notes the damaging impact on the North East-based Greggs business and other companies of the decision to impose standard rate VAT on freshly baked food; believes that a one-fifth increase in the prices of their products will deter customers, further reduce economic activity and reduce working hours and jobs, and may also undermine the good work of the Greggs Foundation which funds breakfast clubs and youth groups; further believes that it will needlessly create new anomalies, enforcement difficulties and potential litigation and undermine high street regeneration; warmly welcomes the petition on the issue organised by the National Association of Master Bakers and Greggs, which has won over 200,000 signatures; and urges the Government to use the statutory consultation period to listen carefully to the industry and negotiate a fair deal for all concerned.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Mary Glindon16/04/2012North TynesideLabourProposed
David Anderson16/04/2012BlaydonLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns16/04/2012GatesheadLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery16/04/2012WansbeckLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham16/04/2012Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Roberta Blackman-Woods16/04/2012City of DurhamLabourSeconded
Pat Glass16/04/2012North West DurhamLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell16/04/2012Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson17/04/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Lady Hermon17/04/2012North DownIndependentSigned
John McDonnell17/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/04/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/04/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson17/04/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Stuart Bell17/04/2012MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin18/04/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton18/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/04/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea18/04/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Jim Shannon18/04/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
David Heyes19/04/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd19/04/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/04/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma19/04/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Grahame Morris19/04/2012EasingtonLabourSigned
David Crausby23/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mark Durkan23/04/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Katy Clark23/04/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn25/04/2012JarrowLabourSigned
George Howarth25/04/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe25/04/2012Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice25/04/2012LivingstonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas30/04/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.