Parliament Website

Higher Education (No.2)

EDM number 2953 in 2010-12, proposed by Paul Blomfield on 16/04/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Higher education.

That this House is concerned by the Government's decision to postpone indefinitely the planned Higher Education Bill; calls for an urgent debate on the future of higher education policy; notes the economic, social and wider value of our publicly-funded university system which has a long-established worldwide reputation for quality; further notes with great concern that further changes to higher education policy, including the opening up of degree-awarding powers and public funding to for-profit education providers, might be enacted without an opportunity for full parliamentary scrutiny and transparency or the input of the views of students, young people and staff; further calls for the provision of maximum opportunities for public scrutiny of the Government's White Paper proposals, Students at the Heart of the System, which have still not been afforded the opportunity to be voted upon by this House; further calls for a debate on the availability of student support, postgraduate funding, access for mature students and the extent and causes of student hardship in light of proposed reductions in student bursaries and increases in hidden course costs; and further calls for the means to create protections for students and staff whilst the wider reforms are in flux, including protecting the terms and conditions attached to student loans.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Paul Blomfield16/04/2012Sheffield CentralLabourProposed
David Lammy16/04/2012TottenhamLabourSeconded
Yasmin Qureshi16/04/2012Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon16/04/2012North TynesideLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham16/04/2012Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Bill Esterson16/04/2012Sefton CentralLabourSeconded
John McDonnell17/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/04/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/04/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan17/04/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin18/04/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/04/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton18/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/04/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/04/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell18/04/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock19/04/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd19/04/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma19/04/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce19/04/2012Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram19/04/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns19/04/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
George Howarth23/04/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Katy Clark23/04/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Crausby23/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas23/04/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Tristram Hunt24/04/2012Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn25/04/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Ian Lavery25/04/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman30/04/2012HuddersfieldLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.