Parliament Website

Local And Regional Newspapers (No. 2)

EDM number 2978 in 2010-12, proposed by Linda Riordan on 18/04/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Press.

That this House notes with sadness the decision by Johnston Press to move many long-established local newspapers from a daily publication to a weekly publication; condemns this unnecessary move and the implications it will have for the jobs of many journalists, printers, newspaper sellers and newspaper deliveries; praises the role local daily newspapers like the Halifax Courier and other titles in towns like Kettering, Northampton, Peterborough and Scarborough play in local democracy and in reporting the news on a daily basis; further notes the knock-on effect this will have on the local economies of the towns affected; urges Johnston Press to protect existing jobs at the newspaper titles affected and ensure that there are no compulsory job losses; further urges them to consult fully with the National Union of Journalists about their proposals; and hopes that local newspapers will continue to play an important role in the life of local communities for many years to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Linda Riordan18/04/2012HalifaxLabourProposed
Bob Russell18/04/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell18/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock18/04/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Katy Clark18/04/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Karl Turner18/04/2012Kingston upon Hull EastLabourSeconded
Virendra Sharma19/04/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards19/04/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dobbin19/04/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson19/04/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/04/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Heyes19/04/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner23/04/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
David Crausby23/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/04/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/04/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Lavery25/04/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Mark Williams26/04/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman30/04/2012HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas30/04/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/04/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.