Parliament Website

Traffic-Light Food-Labelling

EDM number 515 in 2010-12, proposed by Greg Mulholland on 15/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Food and Regulation.

That this House expresses concern at the recent European Parliament decision to reject a mandatory front-of-package traffic-light food-labelling system in favour of a per cent. guideline daily amounts system, against consumer wishes; recognises that independent research identifies the traffic-light system as the simplest and most informative way for consumers to assess the nutritional value of their foods and that it has been endorsed by the British Medical Association, the consumer magazine Which? and the British Heart Foundation; notes that as such the traffic-light system provides a critical tool to encourage healthier eating habits as concerns grow about obesity-related illness and deaths in the UK; stresses that elected officials should represent the best interests of the people above all else, protecting them from the lobbying tactics of profit-driven organisations; and calls on the European Parliament to revisit this decision regarding food-labelling regulations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Greg Mulholland15/07/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George15/07/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Glenda Jackson19/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan19/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Hancock19/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Adrian Sanders19/07/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Stephen Williams19/07/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton20/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson20/07/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards20/07/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Naomi Long21/07/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
David Anderson22/07/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie26/07/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dennis Skinner26/07/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Michael Dugher27/07/2010Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/09/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Diane Abbott06/09/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Pete Wishart06/09/2010Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Mike Wood06/09/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Jim McGovern06/09/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore06/09/2010Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Ian Mearns06/09/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Ward07/09/2010Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Hilling16/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Stella Creasy11/10/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
John Leech01/11/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gilbert14/12/2010St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes16/03/2011Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Angus Robertson03/05/2011MorayScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.