Parliament Website

Protecting Railway Pensions Campaign

EDM number 561 in 2010-12, proposed by Diane Abbott on 20/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Pensions and Railways.

That this House recognises and supports the joint campaign between the unions TSSA, Amicus, ASLEF and RMT which calls for railway workers' pension contributions to be restricted to an affordable level; notes that since the privatisation of the railways union members' pensions have not had protected status; further notes that closure of the pension scheme to new members has resulted in higher costs for active members; and calls on the Department for Transport to help any transition to new, affordable pension arrangements within the railway industry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Diane Abbott20/07/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley21/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins21/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton21/07/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell21/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin21/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Meale21/07/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson21/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner22/07/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/07/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
David Anderson22/07/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Thomas Docherty22/07/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley26/07/2010York CentralLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
George Howarth27/07/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
David Heyes06/09/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
David Crausby06/09/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne06/09/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Jim McGovern06/09/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy06/09/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/09/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Julie Hilling14/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy16/09/2010Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood13/10/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Russell Brown14/10/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/10/2010North TynesideLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.