Parliament Website

Coalfield Regeneration

EDM number 876 in 2010-12, proposed by Lisa Nandy on 22/10/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Business support, Coal and Regeneration.

That this House welcomes the publication of the Review of CoalfieldsRegeneration by the Coalfield Regeneration Review Board; notes the impact on coalfield communities as a result of the decline of the mining industry is that these areas tend to be isolated, with high mortality rates, higher than average deprivation, fewer businesses per head of population than the national average and 25 per cent. fewer jobs per resident than non-coalfield areas; further notes that despite the investment of 1.5 billion over the last decade, coalfield areas are still a special case; commends this investment along with the work of the Coalfields Regeneration Trust (CRT) and the National Coalfields Programme; and calls on the Government to extend its three-year funding agreement with the CRT, establish a small grants or loans scheme for small and medium enterprises who are struggling in the current economic climate, and ensure that all investment is as effectively targeted as possible and in consultation with local authorities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Lisa Nandy22/10/2010WiganLabourProposed
Jim Sheridan22/10/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Dai Havard22/10/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSeconded
Mark Hendrick22/10/2010PrestonLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris22/10/2010EasingtonLabourSeconded
Graeme Morrice22/10/2010LivingstonLabourSeconded
Stephen Hepburn22/10/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood22/10/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/10/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark22/10/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Nick Smith22/10/2010Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop22/10/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin22/10/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Ian Lavery22/10/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/10/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns25/10/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Hywel Francis25/10/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson25/10/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Wayne David25/10/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne25/10/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Alan Meale25/10/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Michael Dugher26/10/2010Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Natascha Engel26/10/2010North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/10/2010GowerLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/10/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Dennis Skinner26/10/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Kevin Barron26/10/2010Rother ValleyLabourSigned
David Simpson27/10/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
George Howarth27/10/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/10/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd27/10/2010Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley28/10/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Jim Dobbin28/10/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Clive Betts28/10/2010Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
David Crausby28/10/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Murphy28/10/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins28/10/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dave Watts01/11/2010St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson01/11/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma01/11/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Brian Binley02/11/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Yvonne Fovargue03/11/2010MakerfieldLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly08/11/2010Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Joan Walley16/11/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy16/11/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Linda Riordan24/11/2010HalifaxLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.