Parliament Website

Footballers' Battalions

EDM number 895 in 2010-12, proposed by Mark Field on 26/10/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House congratulates the Football League and its clubs on their efforts to remember those players and fans who served their country so proudly from within the Footballers' Battalions during the First World War; recognises the efforts of fans at league clubs who raised significant funds for a memorial to be erected on a site close to where both Battalions suffered grievous losses on the Somme; and notes that the memorial, the first of its type remembering the Footballers' Battalions, is an apt reminder of the sacrifices made during the Great War and of how footballers and fans came together to contest the toughest match of their lives.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mark Field26/10/2010Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeProposed
Alan Meale27/10/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
David Simpson27/10/2010Upper BannDUPSeconded
Tracey Crouch27/10/2010Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSeconded
George Howarth27/10/2010KnowsleyLabourSeconded
Eric Illsley28/10/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Martin Caton28/10/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Bob Russell28/10/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley01/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Leech01/11/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma01/11/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop01/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram02/11/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Therese Coffey02/11/2010Suffolk CoastalConservativeSigned
Robert Halfon02/11/2010HarlowConservativeSigned
Michael Connarty02/11/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe02/11/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Dai Havard02/11/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff02/11/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell03/11/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim McGovern03/11/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Clive Efford04/11/2010ElthamLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson04/11/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming08/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron08/11/2010Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Betts08/11/2010Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey08/11/2010West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Marsha Singh09/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson09/11/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Nicholas Dakin09/11/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Alan Keen11/11/2010Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Martin Horwood11/11/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart17/11/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby02/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
George Mudie15/12/2010Leeds EastLabourSigned
Martin Vickers21/12/2010CleethorpesConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.