Parliament Website

Privatisation Of Security At Kensington Museums

EDM number 993 in 2010-12, proposed by Alan Keen on 11/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Museums and galleries.

That this House is concerned by the plan to privatise in-house security functions at the Kensington museums in London, the National Museum for Science and Industry (NMSI) and the the Natural History Museum (NHM); notes that NMSI includes the National Media Museum in Bradford and the National Railway Museum in York, affecting a total of 89 security staff; is further concerned that any outsourcing of the security function will jeopardise the status of world- and nationally-renowned collections, undermine terms and conditions of staff and degrade the standard of service for the 11 million annual visitors to the Kensington museums; is alarmed that security staff at NMSI and NHM were not consulted prior to the decision to tender being made and have been given very limited input into the tendering process; condemns management's refusal to release to PCS union members working at these museums the details of the business case; believes that the extended deadline for bids relates to the ongoing delay in negotiations over reforms to the Civil Service Compensation Scheme which sets levels of redundancy pay; is unclear as to the reasons for or benefits of this privatisation; and calls on the management and trustees of these priceless cultural institutions to draw back from any further privatisation of the security function.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alan Keen11/11/2010Feltham and HestonLabourProposed
John McDonnell11/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Bob Russell11/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Linda Riordan12/11/2010HalifaxLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson12/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn15/11/2010Newport WestLabourSeconded
Mike Gapes15/11/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton15/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner16/11/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/11/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock16/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon22/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Eric Illsley24/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
David Crausby07/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.