Parliament Website

David Nicholson And NHS Accountability

EDM number 1096 in 2012-13, proposed by Charlotte Leslie on 25/02/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Health services and Patient rights and complaints.

That this House notes with great concern the findings of the Francis Report into Mid Staffordshire NHS Trust, particularly the avoidable deaths of up to 1,200 patients; further notes the ongoing investigation into excess mortality rates at 14 other NHS trusts; further notes with deep concern statistics suggesting excess mortality of 2,800 avoidable patient deaths across these trusts from 2008 to 2010; welcomes the Government's commitment to greater accountability and transparency in the NHS and to power for patients; calls on the Government to instigate full investigations into what information raising these concerns was made available to Sir David Nicholson, departmental officials and Ministers during this time and what action, if any, was taken; and further calls for anyone found to be negligent in their duty to protect patients to be held fully accountable and face appropriate consequences, and for Sir David Nicholson to resign as Chief Executive of the NHS, given his previous role as Chief Executive of West Midlands Strategic Health Authority, which had overall responsibility for Mid Staffordshire NHS Trust during the period investigated in the Francis Inquiry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Charlotte Leslie25/02/2013Bristol North WestConservativeProposed
William Cash26/02/2013StoneConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton26/02/2013GowerLabourSeconded
Mark Field26/02/2013Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeSeconded
Andrew Bridgen26/02/2013North West LeicestershireConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Lefroy26/02/2013StaffordConservativeSeconded
Neil Carmichael27/02/2013StroudConservativeSigned
Craig Whittaker27/02/2013Calder ValleyConservativeSigned
Aidan Burley27/02/2013Cannock ChaseConservativeSigned
Nadine Dorries27/02/2013Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Philip Davies27/02/2013ShipleyConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/02/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Kate Hoey27/02/2013VauxhallLabourSigned
Nicholas Soames27/02/2013Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Richard Shepherd27/02/2013Aldridge-BrownhillsConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/02/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Anderson28/02/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Karl McCartney28/02/2013LincolnConservativeSigned
Simon Reevell01/03/2013DewsburyConservativeSigned
Andrew Griffiths01/03/2013BurtonConservativeSigned
Frank Field04/03/2013BirkenheadLabourSigned
George Mudie04/03/2013Leeds EastLabourSigned
John Cryer06/03/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner07/03/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
Robin Walker07/03/2013WorcesterConservativeSigned
George Galloway11/03/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Graham Stringer11/03/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jack Lopresti11/03/2013Filton and Bradley StokeConservativeSigned
Geoffrey Robinson12/03/2013Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Anne Main20/03/2013St AlbansConservativeSigned
John Hemming26/03/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.