Parliament Website

Late Payment To Small- And Medium-Sized Enterprises

EDM number 650 in 2012-13, proposed by Debbie Abrahams on 29/10/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Small businesses.

That this House notes that small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) across the country are suffering acutely as a result of late payment, with many firms' survival being put at risk by cash flow problems; recognises that large companies and Government agencies have a moral duty to pay suppliers promptly; further notes that recent figures suggest that over one million SMEs are currently being affected by late payment and that the total outstanding funds owed amount to 36.4 billion; further recognises the steps taken by the previousadministration to tackle late payment, including bypassing the Late Payment of Commercial Debts (Interest) Act 1998 and working alongside business organisations and the Institute of Credit Management tolaunch and get firms signed-up to the Prompt Payment Code; applauds firms which are signed-up to and abide by the Prompt Payment Code and which pay their suppliers on time; further notes the success of the Be Fair Pay on Time campaign in signing-up 12 additional FTSE 100 firms to the Code; regrets that some FTSE 100 firms have so far refused to sign-up to the Code while others have failed to respond to the campaign; further notes the Government's failure to transpose the EU directive on late payments into UK law earlier than required, despite having promised to do so; and calls both on large firms to sign-up to the Prompt Payment Code and the Government to redouble efforts to sign-up firms to the Code and to tackle late payment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Debbie Abrahams29/10/2012Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourProposed
Michael Meacher29/10/2012Oldham West and RoytonLabourSeconded
Teresa Pearce29/10/2012Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSeconded
Valerie Vaz29/10/2012Walsall SouthLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham29/10/2012Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris29/10/2012EasingtonLabourSeconded
David Miliband29/10/2012South ShieldsLabourSigned
Mark Durkan29/10/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew George29/10/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley29/10/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Sheila Gilmore29/10/2012Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Bill Esterson29/10/2012Sefton CentralLabourSigned
David Heyes30/10/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Martin Caton30/10/2012GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale30/10/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson30/10/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon30/10/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie31/10/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea31/10/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
John McDonnell31/10/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell31/10/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Tony Cunningham31/10/2012WorkingtonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes31/10/2012Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Michael Weir31/10/2012AngusScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Henderson31/10/2012Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Steve Rotheram31/10/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
John Leech01/11/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon01/11/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Shaun Woodward01/11/2012St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Frank Dobson01/11/2012Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds01/11/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Naomi Long01/11/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/11/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Frank Doran02/11/2012Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Clive Betts02/11/2012Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Dave Watts02/11/2012St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz05/11/2012Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas05/11/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alasdair McDonnell05/11/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Davidson05/11/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/11/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff05/11/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma05/11/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Fiona O'Donnell05/11/2012East LothianLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice05/11/2012LivingstonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/11/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Blomfield06/11/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
John Mann07/11/2012BassetlawLabourSigned
David Crausby07/11/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
George Galloway07/11/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
David Anderson07/11/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
John Pugh08/11/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne08/11/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Joan Walley08/11/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan08/11/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Andrew Love09/11/2012EdmontonLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe13/11/2012Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Michael Crockart19/11/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood20/11/2012Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper26/11/2012West LancashireLabourSigned
George Mudie26/02/2013Leeds EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.