Parliament Website

Travel And Subsistence Tax Avoidance Schemes

EDM number 764 in 2012-13, proposed by Michael Connarty on 22/11/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Taxation.

That this House notes the scale of tax avoidance through travel and subsistence expenses schemes, often operated by temporary labour providers, which artificially classify part of a worker's pay as expenses, allowing the employer to save on tax, while failing to provide the worker with the benefit; is concerned that such schemes are often not lawful, can lead to a worker's taxable pay falling below the level of the national minimum wage and are estimated by HM Revenue and Customs to be costing the Exchequer 650 million in the financial year 2012-13; and calls on the Government to investigate systematically and in depth all companies known to be using these schemes, to grant HM Revenue and Customs the power and resources to enforce current legislation and to commit to amending legislation to ensure travel and subsistence tax avoidance schemes are not used in the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Michael Connarty22/11/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourProposed
John Robertson22/11/2012Glasgow North WestLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan22/11/2012Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Sheila Gilmore22/11/2012Edinburgh EastLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery22/11/2012WansbeckLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley26/11/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan26/11/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin26/11/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/11/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale27/11/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Caton27/11/2012GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/11/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe27/11/2012Bradford SouthLabourSigned
David Ward27/11/2012Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell28/11/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards28/11/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Steve Rotheram28/11/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Katy Clark28/11/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell28/11/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie28/11/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Williams29/11/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma29/11/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly30/11/2012Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy30/11/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Leech03/12/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson04/12/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon04/12/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Robert Halfon19/12/2012HarlowConservativeSigned
Andrew Bridgen19/12/2012North West LeicestershireConservativeSigned
John Cryer17/01/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Michael Crockart13/02/2013Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.