Parliament Website

Citizens Advice Scotland And Payday Loans

EDM number 776 in 2012-13, proposed by Fiona O'Donnell on 26/11/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Financial services.

That this House welcomes the launch of the Citizens Advice Scotland campaign Payday Loans: your rights, their responsibilities which aims to ensure short-term, high cost credit, known as payday lending, is fair and responsible and people are informed about their rights when taking out a payday loan; notes that Citizens Advice Bureaux (CAB) have been very concerned about unacceptable marketing, lending and debt collection practices of payday lenders in their local communities; welcomes Citizens Advice Scotland's campaign, which will monitor local lenders' implementation and adherence to the new Good Practice charter for payday lenders, which includes providing clear information and credit vetting; remains concerned that research shows payday loans are increasingly used to pay for essentials such as rent and bills and not for emergencies or luxuries; encourages anyone who believes they have been unfairly treated by a lender, or who has problems with debt, to seek advice from their local CAB; and calls on the Government to introduce a cap on the total cost of credit charged by payday lenders.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Fiona O'Donnell26/11/2012East LothianLabourProposed
Mark Lazarowicz26/11/2012Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSeconded
Michael Connarty26/11/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Lindsay Roy26/11/2012GlenrothesLabourSeconded
Sheila Gilmore26/11/2012Edinburgh EastLabourSeconded
Eilidh Whiteford26/11/2012Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Lavery27/11/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley27/11/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan27/11/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/11/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tom Clarke27/11/2012Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Alan Meale27/11/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards28/11/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Katy Clark28/11/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Michael Weir28/11/2012AngusScottish National PartySigned
Anne Begg28/11/2012Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin28/11/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John McDonnell28/11/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea28/11/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson28/11/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie28/11/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma29/11/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil29/11/2012Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart29/11/2012Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds29/11/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ian Davidson29/11/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Angus Robertson29/11/2012MorayScottish National PartySigned
Jim Sheridan30/11/2012Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell30/11/2012North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso30/11/2012Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice04/12/2012LivingstonLabourSigned
Frank Doran04/12/2012Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne12/12/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood17/12/2012Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Jim McGovern17/12/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned
George Mudie23/01/2013Leeds EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.