Parliament Website

New Beatson Cancer Charity

EDM number 1125 in 2013-14, proposed by John Robertson on 26/02/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Charities and Diseases.

That this House welcomes the launch of the new Beatson Cancer Charity, which brings together the resources of Friends of the Beatson and the Beatson Oncology Centre Fund; recognises that this new charity will support the vital work of the Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre in Glasgow which is the UK's busiest cancer treatment centre and second busiest in Europe; understands that the launch and subsequent development of this new charity is a unique and significant step in the fight against cancer in the UK; further welcomes that the Beatson Cancer Charity is determined to beat cancer and that through a programme of active fundraising it will help fund improvements and innovation in services, provide enhanced medical equipment, fund additional nursing, radiology, physics and research posts, as well as fund education, training and staff development at the Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre; further welcomes that the charity will focus on facilitating high quality research programmes and ground-breaking early stage research to improve cancer treatment; understands that the Beatson Cancer Charity will adopt a partnership approach; further welcomes the Beatson Cancer Charity's support of the vision of the Beatson in Glasgow being rightfully regarded as an internationally renowned comprehensive cancer centre attracting the highest calibre of professional staff and developing state-of-the-art, pioneering techniques and treatments that will change the face of cancer treatment on a local, national and international scale; further recognises the importance of this new charity in the fight against cancer; and looks forward to hearing more about its work in due course.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

John Robertson26/02/2014Glasgow North WestLabourProposed
Jim Shannon27/02/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan27/02/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John McDonnell27/02/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jim McGovern28/02/2014Dundee WestLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin03/03/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Julian Lewis03/03/2014New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Jim Sheridan03/03/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie03/03/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson03/03/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea04/03/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
John Leech04/03/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn04/03/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale04/03/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell05/03/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton05/03/2014GowerLabourSigned
Ian Lavery06/03/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds06/03/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ian Mearns10/03/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
Fiona O'Donnell13/03/2014East LothianLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood17/03/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Katy Clark17/03/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Crausby19/03/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
George Galloway01/04/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.