Parliament Website

Urban Speed Limits

EDM number 1204 in 2013-14, proposed by Julian Huppert on 20/03/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Roads.

That this House notes that a reduction of the national default urban speed limit from 30 miles per hour (mph) to 20 mph would help to prevent needless road casualties, encourage healthier lifestyles and reduce pollution; is appalled that, every day, five children and 25 adults are killed or seriously injured while walking or cycling on UK roads, every one devastating for families, every one entirely preventable; further notes that at 20 mph, stopping distances are about half that at 30 mph, meaning that drivers are much more able to stop in time in an emergency, such as if a child steps out; further notes that a reduction in the limit would help bring about more active and healthy lifestyles, with one trial showing that widespread 20 mph limits led to a 20 per cent increase in walking and cycling; further notes that 20 mph limits also reduce pollution by causing vehicles to travel at a more constant speed; congratulates Brake, the road safety charity, on using its parliamentary reception to draw attention to the benefits of 20 mph limits and drivers slowing down; and calls on policymakers and practitioners to take steps to reduce speeds and make the roads safer for walking and cycling.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Julian Huppert20/03/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan20/03/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John Leech24/03/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale24/03/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie24/03/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
David Simpson25/03/2014Upper BannDUPSeconded
John McDonnell25/03/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/03/2014GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/03/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock26/03/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea26/03/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Mary Glindon27/03/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Naomi Long27/03/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Simon Wright31/03/2014Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward01/04/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke02/04/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Thornton02/04/2014EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell02/04/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Caroline Lucas03/04/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Hywel Williams08/04/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards08/04/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Joan Walley09/04/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman09/04/2014Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Michael Crockart09/04/2014Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams10/04/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugh Bayley28/04/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield28/04/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
John Cryer28/04/2014Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John Pugh01/05/2014SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham06/05/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson06/05/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tim Farron07/05/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice07/05/2014LivingstonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.