Parliament Website

EU Single Farm Payment

EDM number 395 in 2013-14, proposed by John Mann on 11/07/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Common Agricultural Policy.

That this House notes that the reforms of the Common Agricultural Policy subsidies were settled in Luxembourg on 26 June 2013; understands that the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, blocked proposals to limit the payments made under the Single Farm Payment to the very richest farmers; further notes that the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions lives on an estate which has received 1,517,535 euros over a 10-year period in funding from the EU whilst the same Minister has cut benefits to some of the neediest in the UK; expresses disappointment that the subsidy system will continue to disadvantage those with small to medium-sized farms; shares the belief of the National Trust and the RSPB that the Government's blocking of subsidy reforms is disastrous for farmers who help to preserve threatened species and beautiful landscapes; and calls on the Government to reconsider its position on farming subsidies and to shift its support from the richest landowners to farmers with smaller holdings and those who work to the benefit of their local environment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

John Mann11/07/2013BassetlawLabourProposed
David Anderson15/07/2013BlaydonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan15/07/2013HalifaxLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham15/07/2013Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns15/07/2013GatesheadLabourSeconded
Natascha Engel16/07/2013North East DerbyshireLabourSeconded
Andrew George16/07/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Grahame Morris16/07/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer16/07/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
John Robertson16/07/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie16/07/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kevin Barron17/07/2013Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/07/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
Frank Doran18/07/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan18/07/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jimmy Hood02/09/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Chris Ruane04/09/2013Vale of ClwydLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.