Parliament Website

Shrewsbury 24

EDM number 449 in 2013-14, proposed by Ian Mearns on 18/07/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Construction industry, Freedom of information and Industrial relations.

That this House notes the application to the Criminal Cases Review Commission by Ricky Tomlinson and other convicted building workers known as the Shrewsbury 24 who were prosecuted in 1973 following the national building workers' strike in 1972; further notes the support for the Shrewsbury 24 campaign from building workers? unions the Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians and Unite and many other trades unions; further notes that on the 40th anniversary of the dispute the Government continues, on the grounds of national security, to withhold a number of papers relating to the strike and prosecutions from being deposited at the National Archives under section 23 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000; and calls on the Government to release forthwith all such papers for public scrutiny.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Ian Mearns18/07/2013GatesheadLabourProposed
Bob Russell18/07/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Grahame Morris18/07/2013EasingtonLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan18/07/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery18/07/2013WansbeckLabourSeconded
David Heyes02/09/2013Ashton-under-LyneLabourSeconded
Graeme Morrice02/09/2013LivingstonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley02/09/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/09/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Pat Glass02/09/2013North West DurhamLabourSigned
David Anderson02/09/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/09/2013JarrowLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner03/09/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/09/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell03/09/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield04/09/2013Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Tom Clarke05/09/2013Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Frank Doran05/09/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway05/09/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Natascha Engel12/09/2013North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Crausby12/09/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Katy Clark26/11/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood16/12/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne16/12/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper16/12/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
John Robertson17/12/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Michael Meacher18/12/2013Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Dai Havard18/12/2013Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin18/12/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Wood08/01/2014Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Mark Durkan23/01/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alex Cunningham23/01/2014Stockton NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer23/01/2014Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
George Howarth27/01/2014KnowsleyLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock30/01/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Ian Davidson03/02/2014Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden04/02/2014Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty06/02/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Kate Hoey06/02/2014VauxhallLabourSigned
Joan Walley17/03/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.