Parliament Website

Home Office Returns Pilot Scheme

EDM number 488 in 2013-14, proposed by Julian Huppert on 09/09/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Asylum.

That this House deplores the recent Home Office poster campaign running in UK Border Agency offices in Glasgow and London advising people seeking advice to 'go home'; believes that this poster campaign is an insensitive and ineffective way of dealing with illegal immigration and is unlikely to encourage voluntary returns; notes that this is not the only instance of this type of campaign following the heavily criticised vans carrying similar messages; further notes that charities and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) have expressed their concerns about the campaign; further believes that this scheme is likely to undermine its stated aims whilst creating an environment of fear; and urges the Government to halt immediately this pilot scheme and to work with local authorities, community groups and NGOs to encourage voluntary returns in a more effective, liberal, sympathetic and humane manner.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Julian Huppert09/09/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratProposed
Mike Hancock09/09/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon10/09/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
John McDonnell10/09/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/09/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Gerald Kaufman11/09/2013Manchester, GortonLabourSeconded
John Leech11/09/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams11/09/2013Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Stewart Hosie11/09/2013Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Sarah Teather11/09/2013Brent CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke11/09/2013Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne11/09/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Andrew George12/09/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming12/09/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff08/10/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim McGovern08/10/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/10/2013GowerLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore08/10/2013Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson08/10/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/10/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Reid08/10/2013Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark08/10/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood08/10/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/10/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Lazarowicz08/10/2013Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Naomi Long15/10/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Virendra Sharma16/10/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas21/10/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Martin Horwood25/10/2013CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.