Parliament Website

Immigration Rules

EDM number 107 in 2014-15, proposed by Katy Clark on 16/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Immigration and Incomes and poverty.

That this House condemns the Financial (Minimum Income) Threshold in the Immigration Rules introduced by the Government which came into force on 9 July 2012; notes that the rules are having a negative impact on UK citizens who have spouses from non-EU/EEA nations and is resulting in families being forced to live outside the UK or to live separately in different countries; calls on the Government urgently to lower the threshold for the minimum income and allow families to return to the UK with immediate effect; further calls on the Government to implement the recommendation of the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Migration to undertake an independent review of the Financial (Minimum Income) Threshold generally to ensure that families with spouses from non-EU/EEA nations with stable and reasonable incomes are granted permission to immigrate to the UK; and notes that the UK's four children's commissioners all endorsed the APPG report on Migration and its recommendations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Katy Clark16/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Paul Blomfield16/06/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan16/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards17/06/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Linda Riordan17/06/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie17/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Michael Weir17/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
John McDonnell17/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas17/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Glenda Jackson18/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin18/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams18/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
John Leech23/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby23/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Julian Huppert24/06/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes25/06/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Annette Brooke25/06/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn30/06/2014JarrowLabourSigned
John Hemming30/06/2014Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long02/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Gerald Kaufman15/07/2014Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
David Ward21/07/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugh Bayley22/07/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Sarah Teather01/09/2014Brent CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Yasmin Qureshi01/09/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/09/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.