Parliament Website

Professor Robert Winston And Three-Parent Embryos

EDM number 122 in 2014-15, proposed by Fiona Bruce on 17/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Medical ethics, Research and innovation, Science and Genetics.

That this House notes the comments of Professor Robert Winston reported in the Independent on Sunday on 15 June 2014 on the premature introduction of mitochondrial replacement techniques; urges the Government to heed his warning that a great deal more research in as many animal models as possible ought to be undertaken prior to such techniques being approved; further notes his view that full and far-reaching assessments must be conducted as to the potential risks to children born as a result of the procedures; and calls on the Department of Health to delay bringing the relevant regulations before Parliament until the international scientific community and the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority have declared the techniques safe.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Fiona Bruce17/06/2014CongletonConservativeProposed
Jim Dobbin17/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Joe Benton17/06/2014BootleLabourSeconded
Glyn Davies17/06/2014MontgomeryshireConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon17/06/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Laurence Robertson17/06/2014TewkesburyConservativeSeconded
Ian Paisley Jnr17/06/2014North AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson17/06/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Martin Vickers17/06/2014CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Julian Brazier18/06/2014CanterburyConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/06/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds18/06/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Mark Durkan18/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Caroline Spelman18/06/2014MeridenConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell18/06/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
Robert Flello18/06/2014Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
William McCrea19/06/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Brian Binley19/06/2014Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Craig Whittaker19/06/2014Calder ValleyConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon19/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Amess23/06/2014Southend WestConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie23/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby23/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Davis23/06/2014Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman23/06/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy24/06/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson24/06/2014East AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Peter Aldous25/06/2014WaveneyConservativeSigned
Gary Streeter26/06/2014South West DevonConservativeSigned
Frank Field26/06/2014BirkenheadLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper03/07/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Jim McGovern08/07/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.