Parliament Website

Government Policy On Derelict And Abandoned Buildings

EDM number 277 in 2014-15, proposed by Stephen Gilbert on 21/07/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Regional planning and development and Empty property.

That this House recognises the devastating effect that derelict and abandoned buildings can have on a community, both commercially and on its landscape; notes that such sites can pose a serious health and safety risk, especially as an attraction to homeless and younger people; further notes the effect of land banking as a barrier to regeneration and to sustainable development; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislative proposals to allow local planning authorities to tackle sites in their communities including allowing an administration charge to be levied against property owners to cover costs of safeguarding and assessing the site and to introduce a land value tax on vacant sites, similar to that already imposed in Denmark and discussed in the Barker Review 2003, in line with the value of business rates which would be payable if a permitted development had already taken place.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Stephen Gilbert21/07/2014St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratProposed
Michael Connarty22/07/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Bob Russell22/07/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Dobbin01/09/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock01/09/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Yasmin Qureshi01/09/2014Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
David Ward01/09/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/09/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/09/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland02/09/2014Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson03/09/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/09/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/09/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Steve Rotheram03/09/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma03/09/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Annette Brooke04/09/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell05/09/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams08/09/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech09/09/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Ruane13/10/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Naomi Long13/10/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Roger Godsiff15/10/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Roger Williams04/11/2014Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron09/12/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders02/02/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter03/02/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso03/02/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott03/02/2015Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey03/02/2015North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith03/02/2015Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell04/02/2015North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Tessa Munt04/02/2015WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood09/02/2015CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George12/02/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.