Parliament Website

Community Of Arran Seabed Trust

EDM number 54 in 2014-15, proposed by Katy Clark on 09/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Fisheries, Marine environment and Nature conservation.

That this House applauds the Community Of Arran Seabed Trust (COAST) for its work to establish the south of Arran coast as a Marine Protected Area (MPA); congratulates it on gathering over 1,300 responses to a Scottish Government public consultation on MPAs, of which 99 per cent were in favour of the south of Arran MPA; notes the importance of MPAs across the globe, which promote sustainable fishing such as creeling, hand diving and sea angling, create an area protected from bottom trawling and dredging and protect important habitats and fish nursery grounds; urges the Scottish Government to act on the consultation and introduce the south of Arran MPA, as well as other MPAs, which are legally protected; further congratulates COAST on its earlier work which produced a No Take Zone (NTZ) in Lamlash Bay after 13 years of campaigning; further notes after five years the seabed in Lamlash is now 40 per cent more complex and healthier than the area outside the NTZ; further notes that there are higher densities of scallops, crabs and lobsters, both older and larger, being recorded and increased numbers of juvenile cod and haddock; and further congratulates COAST on its numerous campaigns and responses which have been submitted to influence policy decision in favour of sustainable marine environments.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Katy Clark09/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Mark Lazarowicz09/06/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSeconded
Andrew George09/06/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale09/06/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
John McDonnell09/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins10/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon10/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin10/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech10/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Weir11/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mary Glindon12/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Paul Flynn12/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
David Crausby12/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan16/06/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson16/06/2014Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Albert Owen16/06/2014Ynys MLabourSigned
John Robertson17/06/2014Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/06/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis17/06/2014AberavonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer17/06/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Keith Vaz18/06/2014Leicester EastLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/06/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Michael Crockart19/06/2014Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran23/06/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey23/06/2014North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma23/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell25/06/2014North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.