Parliament Website

Employment Of Supply Teachers

EDM number 648 in 2014-15, proposed by Ian Mearns on 17/12/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Employment and Teachers.

That this House recognises that properly qualified supply teachers are an essential resource for schools which wish to deliver the same quality learning experience for pupils when a class's regular teacher is absent; notes that supply teachers are increasingly employed by agencies which siphon off significant amounts of public funding for education into their profits; is concerned that agencies are unable to offer supply teachers membership of the Teachers' Pension Scheme and are driving down their pay, with a recent survey by the National Union of Teachers finding that 40 per cent of supply teachers are getting lower, or significantly lower, pay than three years ago; further notes the uncertainty and disquiet about umbrella companies which increasingly employ supply teachers; and calls on the Government to encourage schools to employ supply teachers directly or through the local authority, rather than using agencies, to ensure supply teachers are paid fairly and have access to pension rights on an equal basis to other teachers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Ian Mearns17/12/2014GatesheadLabourProposed
Ian Lavery18/12/2014WansbeckLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson18/12/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon18/12/2014North TynesideLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn18/12/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Fabian Hamilton05/01/2015Leeds North EastLabourSeconded
Yasmin Qureshi05/01/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner05/01/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock05/01/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Liz McInnes05/01/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey05/01/2015North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon06/01/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma06/01/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Martin Caton06/01/2015GowerLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/01/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/01/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale06/01/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
David Crausby06/01/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/01/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Meacher06/01/2015Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Bill Esterson07/01/2015Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce07/01/2015Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas07/01/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Grahame Morris07/01/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/01/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Simpson07/01/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Mike Hancock07/01/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech08/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams08/01/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Ainsworth09/01/2015Coventry North EastLabourSigned
David Anderson09/01/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer12/01/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Chris Williamson12/01/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Miller13/01/2015Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz13/01/2015Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Natascha Engel13/01/2015North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Andrew George13/01/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Murphy14/01/2015TorfaenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell15/01/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Johnson19/01/2015Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Louise Ellman19/01/2015Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
David Heyes21/01/2015Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mike Wood21/01/2015Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Joe Benton23/01/2015BootleLabourSigned
David Blunkett27/01/2015Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman02/02/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Geraint Davies04/02/2015Swansea WestLabourSigned
Mark Hunter05/02/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/02/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Frank Field09/02/2015BirkenheadLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders09/02/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer11/02/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman23/02/2015HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Dave Watts23/02/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Mark Tami23/02/2015Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott23/02/2015Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gilbert24/02/2015St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland25/03/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.