Parliament Website

Replacement Of The Aspire Contract

EDM number 832 in 2014-15, proposed by David Wright on 03/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Central government, Employment and Information technology.

That this House welcomes the publication of the Committee of Public Accounts report, HC705, Managing and replacing the Aspire Contract; notes the importance of the Aspire contract in creating a single IT system where previously numerous standalone systems that could not talk to each other had existed, and the 650 linked computer systems that now aid the collection of £50 billion in revenue for HM Treasury as a result; recognises the skills and business knowledge of current Aspire contract staff in achieving a 98 per cent delivery record and a 90 per cent reduction in downtime, as well as their expertise in working on the complex IT system; is troubled that the government proposals to break up that contract will limit contract sizes and risk serious problems, with untested suppliers being asked to work to technical specifications from a government department when both parties may lack the necessary skills; is deeply concerned that the current hubs in Telford and Worthing are being moved to a location hundreds of miles away, possibly even off-shore, and that critical expertise will be lost as staff are unlikely to want to transfer to an employer that has had a seven-year pay freeze; and urges the Government and HM Revenue and Customs to consider the value of the staff who work on the Aspire contract and the dangers of their proposals for the day-to-day delivery of the work.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

David Wright03/03/2015TelfordLabourProposed
Bill Esterson03/03/2015Sefton CentralLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris03/03/2015EasingtonLabourSeconded
Mark Tami03/03/2015Alyn and DeesideLabourSeconded
Chris Ruane03/03/2015Vale of ClwydLabourSeconded
Robert Flello03/03/2015Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSeconded
Mark Lazarowicz03/03/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe03/03/2015Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Mearns04/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
David Crausby04/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn04/03/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Liz McInnes04/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Anderson04/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alan Meale05/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/03/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan06/03/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock06/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas10/03/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Tony Cunningham11/03/2015WorkingtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Graham Stringer16/03/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty17/03/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice18/03/2015LivingstonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery25/03/2015WansbeckLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.