Parliament Website

Parliamentary Reforms

EDM number 904 in 2014-15, proposed by Paul Flynn on 23/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Members of Parliament and Parliament.

That this House records its disappointment at five wasted years in which the Coalition Government has failed to reform the parliamentary abuses that continue to undermine the reputation of politics, such as cash for access to politicians and cash for peerages continuing unabated, 99 per cent of corporate lobbying untouched by legislation, the arbitrary unjust Honours system, further degraded with the creation of a new political honours committee dominated by whips, a complete failure to limit moonlighting by hon. Members in outside jobs and the revolving door to retirement riches uncontrolled by the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments, which remains a toothless watchdog without powers to police the prostitution of insider knowledge of departing hon. Members and civil servants; and calls on the next Government to bring in robust reforms that will rebuild Parliament's reputation for probity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 13 MPs.

Paul Flynn23/03/2015Newport WestLabourProposed
Mike Hancock23/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan23/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Dennis Skinner24/03/2015BolsoverLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell24/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
David Anderson24/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alan Meale25/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie25/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell25/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas25/03/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Sheridan25/03/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.