Parliament Website

Bank Branches

EDM number 1034 in 2015-16, proposed by Mark Williams on 28/01/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Financial services.

That this House recognises the negative impact that bank closures have on small communities and high streets; notes the closure of 500 bank branches in 2014 across the UK; further notes with concern that 1,500 communities in the UK have now lost all bank branches; further recognises the severe limitations of alternatives for many communities, such as mobile, telephone and internet banking; recognises that the Post Office network only provides a partial social function in making many smaller communities viable places to live and work; and calls on the Government to encourage the banking sector to recognise its responsibilities to all communities, rural and urban, in maintaining a broad network which is accessible to both businesses and individuals.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Mark Williams28/01/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratProposed
Martyn Day29/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Weir01/02/2016AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Alistair Carmichael01/02/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan01/02/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards01/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Meale01/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan01/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz01/02/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts01/02/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens01/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon01/02/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ian Blackford02/02/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie02/02/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Joanna Cherry02/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham02/02/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John McNally02/02/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss02/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil02/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley03/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan03/02/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray03/02/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell03/02/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier03/02/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Greg Mulholland04/02/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gethins04/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson05/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald08/02/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson10/02/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Paula Sherriff10/02/2016DewsburyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.