Parliament Website

British Scientists And Gravitational Waves

EDM number 1114 in 2015-16, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 22/02/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Science.

That this House acknowledges the discovery of gravitational waves as a triumph for humanity which confirms Albert Einstein's 100 year old theory of general relativity, and is expected to provide vital insights into the evolution of stars, supernovae, gamma-ray bursts, neutron stars and black holes; commends the decades of scientific research and the development of the techniques to extract the properties of the sources from the gravitational wave signatures carried out at the University of Birmingham, together with colleagues at Cardiff University and the University of Glasgow; recognises that this research was a significant contribution leading to the scientific breakthrough; further recognises the subsequent birth of a brand new field of astronomy that will teach us about our universe for generations to come; and calls on the Government to ensure that sufficient funding is available for scientific research incorporating applied, discovery and translational research to enhance our culture and civilisation and serve the public good.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Valerie Vaz22/02/2016Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley23/02/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John McNally23/02/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts23/02/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Meale24/02/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Roger Godsiff24/02/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Lisa Cameron24/02/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley24/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil24/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss24/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards24/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Monaghan24/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn24/02/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Bob Blackman25/02/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Mhairi Black25/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady25/02/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands25/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald25/02/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock25/02/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams26/02/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Steven Paterson26/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh29/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson29/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon29/02/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Owen Thompson01/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin01/03/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting02/03/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Chris Matheson03/03/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
George Kerevan03/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry03/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry07/03/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell17/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.