Parliament Website

Let's Build A House Project For Reconstruction In Nepal

EDM number 1115 in 2015-16, proposed by Kirsten Oswald on 22/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Housing, International development and Emergencies and disaster management.

That this House recognises the challenge facing the people of Nepal following the earthquake that struck on 25 April 2015, last for just 45 seconds, but causing widespread devastation and changing lives forever, with over 8,000 fatalities and over six million families rendered homeless; records with concern recent estimates that one million people will still be living in temporary shelters at altitudes above 1,500 metres throughout winter 2016; welcomes the sum of over £85 million raised by the Disasters Emergency Committee's public appeal and the Department for International Development's commitment of £70 million to fund reconstruction work in Nepal; acknowledges that the reconstruction process in Nepal will be lengthy and the needs of the Nepalese people must remain at the forefront of our concerns despite pressure from events elsewhere demanding our attention; congratulates the initiative of the World Mission Council of the Church of Scotland in establishing its three-year Let's build a house project with its local partner United Mission to Nepal; and records its appreciation that the call to continue supporting the people of Nepal in rebuilding their country and their lives is being taken up by churches across Scotland, including Coldingham and St Abbs in the Scottish Borders, Neilston in East Renfrewshire and Fairmilehad in Edinburgh.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Kirsten Oswald22/02/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartyProposed
Owen Thompson22/02/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan22/02/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady22/02/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
George Kerevan22/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens22/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Angela Crawley22/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan22/02/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/02/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss22/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless22/02/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin22/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law22/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray22/02/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell22/02/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart22/02/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald22/02/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands22/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan22/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
John McNally23/02/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon23/02/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Natalie McGarry23/02/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson23/02/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Martyn Day23/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley23/02/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie23/02/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Blackford24/02/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron24/02/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil24/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards24/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Deidre Brock25/02/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins25/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson26/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh29/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson29/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon29/02/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Alex Salmond29/02/2016Signed
Roger Mullin01/03/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan01/03/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell23/03/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.