Parliament Website

Record Copies Of Acts

EDM number 1173 in 2015-16, proposed by James Gray on 01/03/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Legislative process, Parliament and Parliamentary procedure.

That this House disagrees with the conclusion of the House of Commons Administration Committee in its First Report of Session 2015-16, and regrets the decision by the House of Lords to discontinue the use of vellum for printing Acts of Parliament; further regrets that the views of individual hon. Members were given no consideration; is concerned that the alleged saving of £80,000 per annum is unlikely to materialise in the long term; believes that the terms of the Resolutions agreed by both Houses on 12 February 1849 have not been fully complied with; notes that the Second Report of the Lords Select Committee on House of Lords Offices, published on 25 May 1999, clearly states that when the Parliament Rolls of Acts of Parliament were discontinued in 1849, it was resolved by both Houses that two copies of every Act should be printed on vellum and that resolutions of both Houses would be needed to give effect to a recommendation to discontinue the use of vellum; further notes that the 1999 proposal was rejected by a majority of 39 per cent in this House; welcomes the view expressed by the Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General that government funds would be available to pay for the continued use of vellum for printing Acts of Parliament; and therefore calls on the House of Lords to reverse its decision to use archival paper rather than vellum for the printing of record copies of public Acts of Parliament until the 1849 Resolutions are amended by both Houses.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

James Gray01/03/2016North WiltshireConservativeProposed
Sharon Hodgson01/03/2016Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSeconded
Jim Dowd01/03/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSeconded
Jeffrey M Donaldson01/03/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSeconded
John Spellar01/03/2016WarleyLabourSeconded
Gerald Howarth01/03/2016AldershotConservativeSeconded
William Wragg01/03/2016Hazel GroveConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson01/03/2016Hornchurch and UpminsterConservativeSigned
David Warburton01/03/2016Somerton and FromeConservativeSigned
Valerie Vaz01/03/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Gary Streeter01/03/2016South West DevonConservativeSigned
Ruth Smeeth01/03/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma01/03/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell01/03/2016RomfordConservativeSigned
Chris Philp01/03/2016Croydon SouthConservativeSigned
David Mundell01/03/2016Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleConservativeSigned
Scott Mann01/03/2016North CornwallConservativeSigned
Fiona Mactaggart01/03/2016SloughLabourSigned
Julian Lewis01/03/2016New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Edward Leigh01/03/2016GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Robert Jenrick01/03/2016NewarkConservativeSigned
David Amess01/03/2016Southend WestConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman01/03/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods01/03/2016City of DurhamLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley01/03/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Graham Brady01/03/2016Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Douglas Chapman01/03/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper01/03/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Byron Davies01/03/2016GowerConservativeSigned
Jonathan Djanogly01/03/2016HuntingdonConservativeSigned
Liam Fox01/03/2016North SomersetConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff01/03/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne01/03/2016Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson01/03/2016Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Danny Kinahan01/03/2016South AntrimUUPSigned
Gavin Robinson02/03/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Alan Meale02/03/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson02/03/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon02/03/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/03/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Nigel Evans02/03/2016Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Mark Williams03/03/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.