Parliament Website

St Patrick's Day 2016

EDM number 1212 in 2015-16, proposed by Martin Docherty on 08/03/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Cultural heritage.

That this House notes that 17 March each year marks St Patrick's Day; understands that this day is an opportunity to celebrate the diverse cultures and heritage of the island of lreland, as well as highlighting the massive contribution that Ireland and its diaspora has made in shaping nations across the globe; understands that the people of Scotland, England and Wales, and in particular those within the village of Old Kilpatrick, have a strong connection to St Patrick, as Old Kilpatrick, in the ancient county Dunbartonshire, is believed to be Patrick's birthplace as denoted by the county and subsequent local authorities’ use of the St Patrick's Saltire flag and that this represents just one of the many bonds that unite the people of these islands in friendship; and wishes all those in the isle of lreland and the diaspora across the world health, happiness and peace as they celebrate St Patrick's Day.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Martin Docherty08/03/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartyProposed
Margaret Ritchie08/03/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Catherine McKinnell08/03/2016Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSeconded
Deidre Brock08/03/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Maria Caulfield08/03/2016LewesConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon08/03/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Angus MacNeil08/03/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John McNally08/03/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant08/03/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron08/03/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan08/03/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan08/03/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens08/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady09/03/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell09/03/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Bob Blackman09/03/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Margaret Ferrier09/03/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon09/03/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Martyn Day09/03/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards09/03/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alison Thewliss09/03/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson09/03/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale09/03/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
George Kerevan09/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford10/03/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara10/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson10/03/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Marion Fellows14/03/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson16/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell16/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry16/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts17/03/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Tasmina Sheikh21/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan21/03/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi18/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown09/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.