Parliament Website

National Gallery Industrial Dispute

EDM number 193 in 2015-16, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 25/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial relations and Museums and galleries.

That this House commends the knowledge, experience and dedication of the visitor and security services staff at the National Gallery; does not support the Gallery's decision to use a private company to manage services that include ticketing, security and information; deplores the victimisation of Public and Commercial Services Union representative Candy Udwin; notes that an Employment Tribunal found at an interim relief hearing that a full tribunal was likely to find that she was dismissed for legitimate union activities and that the tribunal made a continuation of employment order to restore her to the payroll; urges the National Gallery to comply with that order; believes that visitor and security services should remain in-house at the Gallery to ensure that world-famous art can be viewed and enjoyed by the public in an educational environment; and calls on the Government to ensure the funding is in place so that valuable skills and knowledge of the current staff of the Gallery is not lost.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Valerie Vaz25/06/2015Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Grahame Morris25/06/2015EasingtonLabourSeconded
John McDonnell25/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery25/06/2015WansbeckLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards25/06/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Mary Glindon25/06/2015North TynesideLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon29/06/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Hywel Williams29/06/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Caroline Lucas29/06/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Dennis Skinner29/06/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes29/06/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens29/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts30/06/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Graham Stringer30/06/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner30/06/2015CambridgeLabourSigned
Martyn Day30/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Justin Madders30/06/2015Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Sue Hayman30/06/2015WorkingtonLabourSigned
Marion Fellows01/07/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Richard Burgon01/07/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Richard Arkless01/07/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson01/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon01/07/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Alan Meale01/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Liz McInnes02/07/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Diane Abbott02/07/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Thangam Debbonaire02/07/2015Bristol WestLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma06/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Clive Lewis07/07/2015Norwich SouthLabourSigned
John Cryer08/07/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Catherine West15/07/2015Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman20/07/2015HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Vicky Foxcroft20/07/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Kate Hoey21/07/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn21/07/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman21/07/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper07/09/2015West LancashireLabourSigned
Margaret Greenwood07/09/2015Wirral WestLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald07/09/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson07/09/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Fabian Hamilton07/09/2015Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Geraint Davies07/09/2015Swansea WestLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield08/09/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Huw Irranca-Davies29/02/2016OgmoreLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.