Parliament Website

Recognition Of Non-Formal Education

EDM number 302 in 2015-16, proposed by Hannah Bardell on 14/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Schools and Voluntary organisations.

That this House recognises the excellent work that the Head Teacher of St. Kentigern's Academy has carried out for young people in West Lothian, and across Scotland, on the development of character through non-formal education, specifically through school and the Scouts; considers that non-formal education and volunteering has an important part to play in developing the life skills of young people, preparing them for life, learning and work and that this fits well with the ethos of the Curriculum for Excellence; further recognises that countless students are committed to increasing their chances to successfully move on to the next stage in their lives by gaining rewards for their contributions to society; welcomes the fact that this opportunity for recognition has been widened to include formal Scottish Qualifications Authority recognition; and further welcomes the fact that this programme has been widened nationally to acknowledge the contribution of non-formal education to the holistic development of young people.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Hannah Bardell14/07/2015LivingstonScottish National PartyProposed
Martyn Day15/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Salmond15/07/2015Seconded
Paul Monaghan15/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Nigel Evans15/07/2015Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Kirsten Oswald15/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell16/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma16/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan16/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson16/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens20/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford20/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson20/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh20/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands20/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford20/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/07/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Marion Fellows21/07/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss21/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady21/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray21/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara21/07/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald07/09/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart07/09/2015Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry07/09/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/09/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin07/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan08/09/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant08/09/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/09/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.