Parliament Website

Fair Pay For Apprentices

EDM number 310 in 2015-16, proposed by Gavin Newlands on 14/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Incomes and poverty, Pay, Training and Age discrimination.

That this House believes that apprenticeships are an essential part of the workplace and are an invaluable opportunity for young people to earn a living and learn a trade or profession; recognises the immense contribution that apprenticeship schemes make to individuals' lives, private sector, third sector and public sector organisations, as well as the wider economy and labour market; further recognises the efforts of employers across Scotland and the rest of the UK to ensure the best in-work training and education for young people; notes with great concern that, due to the failure of the Government to make work pay, apprentices aged 16 to 18 and those aged 19 or over who are in their first year of the scheme are only entitled to £2.73 per hour; believes that young adults and apprentices need a pay rise, and that apprentices deserve parity in pay; and calls on the Government to increase the National Minimum Wage for 18 to 21 year olds to £6.86 by 2020 and to ensure that apprentices are entitled to this increased rate of pay.

This motion has been signed by a total of 60 MPs.

Gavin Newlands14/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Tasmina Sheikh14/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsty Blackman14/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson14/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day14/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan14/07/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
John Nicolson14/07/2015East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens14/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan14/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/07/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Callum McCaig14/07/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell14/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant14/07/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson14/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson14/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford14/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry14/07/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr14/07/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell14/07/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald14/07/2015Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier14/07/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss14/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin14/07/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald14/07/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan15/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald15/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara15/07/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron15/07/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell15/07/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alex Salmond15/07/2015Signed
Michael Weir15/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale15/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Mark Durkan15/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon15/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Liz Saville Roberts15/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Deidre Brock16/07/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma16/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner16/07/2015CambridgeLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie16/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Godsiff20/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Corri Wilson20/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/07/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas20/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows21/07/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson21/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray21/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Drew Hendry07/09/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon07/09/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Pete Wishart07/09/2015Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/09/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford08/09/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.