Parliament Website

King's Own Scottish Borderers And Gallipoli Day

EDM number 317 in 2015-16, proposed by Calum Kerr on 15/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces and Military operations.

That this House notes that 12 July 2015 marked the 100th anniversary of what is known as Gallipoli Day, when more than 300 officers and men of the King's Own Scottish Borderers were killed, with 42 of them from the town of Kelso; laments the fact that this was the biggest loss of the lives of Borderers in battle in a single day's combat since Flodden in 1513; recognises how devastating this loss was for the local community; further notes that one of those who died that day was Piper James Kerr, the great, great uncle of the hon. Member for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk; praises the Provost of Kelso for raising funds for a new tablet in memory of the fallen at the town's war memorial; remembers with respect and humility all those who died on that day; and expresses the hope that never again will Borderers fall in their masses in battle on foreign shores.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

Calum Kerr15/07/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartyProposed
Ian Blackford15/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens15/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry15/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson15/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Salmond15/07/2015Seconded
Steven Paterson15/07/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald15/07/2015Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman15/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss15/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown15/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray15/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant15/07/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady15/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan15/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard15/07/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin15/07/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara15/07/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock16/07/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh16/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Rosindell16/07/2015RomfordConservativeSigned
George Kerevan16/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins16/07/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon16/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Michael Weir16/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell16/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day16/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham16/07/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands20/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale20/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Corri Wilson20/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson20/07/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Kirsten Oswald21/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows21/07/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson21/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron07/09/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/09/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin07/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis07/09/2015New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan09/09/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.