Parliament Website

MND Research And Gordon's Fightback

EDM number 346 in 2015-16, proposed by Tommy Sheppard on 20/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health services and Research and innovation.

That this House congratulates Gordon Aikman on a stunningly successful campaign, Gordon's Fightback, which has substantially raised the profile of Motor Neurone Disease (MND), a cruelly progressive and debilitating disease, for which there is currently no cure; notes that over £320,000 has been raised by Gordon's Fightback to fund vitally important research into this disease; further notes the huge level of public support and funds raised for MND by the 2014 Ice Bucket Challenge; further notes that the UK is home to some of the world's best MND researchers and specialist research facilities; further notes that public spending on MND research decreased by a third between 2010-11 and 2013-14; further notes that Medical Research Council funding for MND research has dropped to a five-year low; believes finding a cure for MND is of vital importance; and calls on the Government to introduce a long-term strategy, and doubled public spending on MND research, to hasten the day a cure for MND is found.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Tommy Sheppard20/07/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartyProposed
Ronnie Cowan20/07/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin20/07/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Steven Paterson20/07/2015StirlingScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman20/07/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson20/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry20/07/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
John McDonnell20/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Peter Bottomley20/07/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Angela Crawley20/07/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford20/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh20/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock20/07/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald20/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald20/07/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/07/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig20/07/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson20/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day20/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin20/07/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford21/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon21/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Law21/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Dodds21/07/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Alison Thewliss21/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond21/07/2015Signed
Marion Fellows21/07/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Kirsty Blackman21/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray21/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford21/07/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma21/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie21/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Patrick Grady21/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands07/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Lady Hermon07/09/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/09/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Meacher07/09/2015Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron07/09/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson08/09/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/09/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens08/09/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan09/09/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty10/09/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Corri Wilson15/12/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.